Posted in Books, Posts, Resolutions

A New Type of Reader

After years of watching BookTube and browsing Goodreads, I decided it was time to have my own stab in the dark at joining the book review world! I always lap up anything with the mildest description of YA, from cringey guilty-pleasures to hidden gems that leave me bawling.

The coming year is looking to be another excellent year on the YA front: amongst others, we’re (finally) receiving the third instalment of Samantha Shannon’s The Bone Season series, Sarah J Maas’ Court of Mist and Fury series is coming to a close and Patrick Ness’ seventh YA book, Release, will be in our hands in May.

Last year, I was a little embarrassed to look through my Goodreads Reading Challenge and see that the vast majority of the books were written by largely the same type of writer: women whose lives look an awful lot like mine! That’s why I have resolved to diversify my reading from now on; I want a look into new voices, characters and settings. Reading is about experiencing new lives and worlds while sitting comfortably in your favourite spot (or under your duvet if you’re anything like me) and the best way to achieve this is by ensuring your novel choices come from a wide variety of writers with an even wider variety of characters.

Here are a few reading choices I’ve lined up to get me started:

  • The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
  • Trash by Andy Mulligan
  • Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider
  • Butter by Erin Lange
  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  • The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

Look out for book reviews of these and plenty of others!

I might not be a particularly quick reader, but I am an avid reader. That’s what matters and I hope I can get a few others in the reading community to worry less about the numbers and more about the enjoyment!WP_20170330_001 (2)

 

Leave a Reply

