Posted in Blog posts, Books, Path to 100k, Writing

The Writing Path is Laid | August Writing Updates

Stupidly or wisely (because who knows where this will go, really?) I have set myself a goal for the end of the year. It’s very simple and very daunting all at the same time.

I want to reach 100,000 words in my current draft by the end of 2017.

I can hear it already: someone is flipping their hair and saying ‘Mimi, I wrote 50k in just one month for NaNoWriMo one time.’ And, yes, a lot of people are super speedy writers who practically set the keyboard on fire but I AM NOT ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE. I am both a terrible overwriter and a terribly slow writer and when both of those of those come together you have a problem.

That’s why I’ve set this goal. Maybe I’ll finally get to the end of something if I hold myself accountable. (Of course, then I’ll have to work out the whole editing/rewriting thing, but we’re taking small steps here.)

 

  • I began my current draft back in August 2016. The 24th if you want to be precise. That also happens to be exactlyย a year ago.
2017-08-24 (2)
Here’s proof in case you’re sceptical for some reason. Also, my maths skills tell me I’ve spent just over 18 days on this thing.
  • Since that day I have written 43,612 wonderful words (you might have noticed already though).
  • The past year has been spent generating plot ideas and padding out the characters, but, if I’m being real, mostly it’s been spent working out how to do this whole university student thing (a fellow English student decided to do NaNoWriMo during our first term and all I can say is how? HOW?)
  • Now, however, I’ve got pretty much the whole story in my head and I just want to get it out, to be honest. It’s taking up quite a lot of room and it’s already pretty cramped up here.

I don’t regret placing writing time underneath university time on my priority list. I think it’s just one of those times when you have to experience life rather than crawling under your duvet to write about it. In any case, it gave me a whole load of ideas I wouldn’t have had otherwise.

But now I am an experienced uni student (kind of) and this story is sitting on the top of mind distracting me until it’s told. So that’s what I’m going to do.

First, I found a great website to track my writing progress. It’s called Pacemaker (#notspon) and according to its power of calculations, I only have to write under 500 words each day to reach my 100,000. As I usually write over 1000 words in each writing session, this is looking pretty hopeful. All I have to do is increase the frequency of those writing sessions (because try as I may, I don’t think I’ll be one of those people who can write every day. Not yet, anyway. And especially not with your typical student essay deadlines.)

Next, I decided to start this blog series. This way I might actually follow up on this thing, instead of giving up with the claim that I have too many other things to do. I’m hoping this will be a fortnightly affair with monthly updates, lists of writing related tips and goodies, and posts about what I’ve learned.

This is where you come in. If you’re a writer, let me know! Give me all the tips you have to offer, because I’ll probably need them. I’d love to hear about where you are with your writing. And please hear my echoes from my duvet/writing isolation. It gets lonely sometimes.

I just want to clarify a few things here first. The 100,000 word goal is in no way set in stone. I’m fully expecting the finished project to be something on either side. It’s just what I think is a good guide for the genre I’m writing. In any case, this is mostly about finishing my writing, not about writing a certain amount of words. I’m also open to the scenario that I don’t finish the thing by the end of the year. That’s fine too! This is all about learning to be a SeriousBusinessWriterโ„ข and that’s what I’ll be writing about here. Who knows? Maybe we’ll actually get somewhere.

I hope you follow me along on this journey (please, I’ll need someone to poke me back towards it). It would be great if we could all could share what we’re up to and any tips we’ve accumulated over the years of writing. Just make sure you’re following me on Twitter and Instagram and over here (enter your email into the box on the right or press Follow if you have an account… but you probably know that already). That way you’ll keep up to date with how the whole 100,000 thing is going and you can read my increasingly panicked posts.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope to see you soon!

20170824_190509385_iOS

4 thoughts on “The Writing Path is Laid | August Writing Updates

  1. Ooh best of luck with this epic goal!! I am all for making huge and fantastic writing goals per year. It’s fun and motivating. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m challenging myself to edit more instead of writing copious first-drafts and never looking at them again. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Anyway, totally rooting for you here and I THINK YOU CAN DO IT!!! I love that you have a website to track with. I’m just tracking my writing on sticky-notes so far haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

